doakonsult

Consulting.Philosophy.Travel

  • There are three types of people in the world, those who don't know what's happening, those who wonder what's happening and those on the streets that make things happen.

My Super Pants!

Posted by Raunak Mahajan on October 8, 2012

I write this post from inside a train in India. So far, I have exchanged my berth with a co-passenger, so that a family, divided by the cruelty of the reservation system can travel together. All my internal organs have undergone three hours of motion sickness test, thanks to the old and faulty suspension system of this wagon. I have not spoken a single word for the last couple of hours; my berth lies at the very end of the compartment and is quite an isolated spot. I have another 24 hours before I reach my destination and I know they are not going to be the most comfortable.

Earlier today, I experienced a moment of delight that I’d like to share here. While I was getting dressed for the journey, I put on my cargo pants and felt a sudden transformation. The day until then had been pretty dull and I was feeling in no mood to undertake this long trip. But suddenly, in a split moment, all that changed. When I had donned those pants, I was ready to go, all charged up to head out on a long trek. I felt this surge of energy and a complete change in my frame of mind. Bewildered, I looked at myself in the mirror. I gazed at my pants and it hit me, they possessed magical powers.

These were the same cargo pants that I had worn on several arduous travels of mine, the 18 day trek across North East India, the 15 day mentally punishing trip to Mt. Kailash in Tibet, the month long grilling political campaign in the badlands of rural India. Since my body had overcome a lot of external stress while dressed in these cargoes, an unexplainable bonding has come into existence between the two. A touch of the pants on my skin, and my body gets triggered into action. Physiological changes kick in, hormonal flows get altered and travel instincts get activated. In short, a pretty cool conditional reflex has developed.

I now call these cargoes my Super Pants! Does your wardrobe have a Super Dress?

P.S: I’ve just been requested to change my berth again so that an old lady can occupy my lower berth and I climb on to the upper berth allotted to her. This happens every time I take a train πŸ™‚

 

 

 

13 Responses to “My Super Pants!”

  1. soumyav said

    Ha Ha! many things to share and enjoy as you travel down! Have the happiest of times for your break… and come back rejuvenated! πŸ™‚

  2. it’s a bird, it’s a plane, it’s super pants! instead of changing in a phone booth, you’re changing in a train car. i have a pair of super undies (though i won’t embarrass you with a picture). i wore them on the way to the hospital before birthing each of my three kids, each of whom came out faster than a speeding bullet. πŸ™‚ happy trails!!!!

    • Raunak said

      Hi Vanessa! The phone booth was exactly what I was picturizing in my head while writing the post. I would any day prefer the booth…the train has rattled every bone in my body!
      Thanks for sharing your thoughts and not a picture of your undies πŸ˜€

  3. WH said

    What generosity and truth! A woman not have Super Dress? That’s absurd; we have lots of them, depending on the occasion. Here’s my favorite: If I’m getting ready for a formal affair or a performance (back in the day), I wear a blue and red plaid flannel shirt as I do my hair and make-up. It hangs in my closet for that purpose alone. When I put it on, I know that the night is going to be amazing!

    • Raunak said

      That’s awesome to hear. I didn’t think that so many would have their super dress…its a pleasant surprise πŸ™‚
      thanks for sharing yours and making this post so much better!
      πŸ™‚

  4. cheriblevy said

    when I was 8 years old I had an Osh Kosh B’Gosh jumper that would instantly make me feel superior. I hear you! Great writing, I visualized everything you wrote. Well done!

    • Raunak said

      Thanks πŸ™‚
      A Super Jumper…that’s awesome!!!
      glad you liked the post and thanks again for contributing to it!

  5. emmawolf said

    I had a polar bear hat that used to make me feel pretty super. I wish I could say that I had it as a kid, but it was when I was in college.

  6. Love this story! πŸ™‚ My super-wear is my backpack. When I’m home, if I even so much as look at it, I’m suddenly sucked into a vortex of other worlds – feels like whirling through time & space in a cocoon of travel memories. Supremely exhilarating!

  7. […] SuperΒ  Pants lived up to their expectations yet again […]

Leave a Reply

 
