doakonsult

Consulting.Philosophy.Travel

  • There are three types of people in the world, those who don't know what's happening, those who wonder what's happening and those on the streets that make things happen.

Enlightenment is not a Destination. It is the Journey.

Posted by Raunak Mahajan on October 28, 2012

While reading Pat’s wonderful post, I was forced to dig deep into my mind and seek my truth. After deep thinking, the only realization that dawned upon me was that my philosophical, sprititual and religious journey has no final destination. The journey on the awakened path in itself is the eternal bliss and joy that I am seeking. A lot of frustrations on this path have arisen due to my inability to reach the ultimate truth. But maybe, I have misunderstood the nature of the ultimate truth. What I have always imagined to be a destination may in fact be the journey.

I now feel that Enlightenment is not a point, but a line. It is not a scalar quantity that can be defined wholly by its magnitude alone. It is a vector quantity that is a combination of magnitude and direction. And in this case, magnitude is represented by logical reasoning while direction is represented by a conscience driven journey.

And I may not be the only one with this truth. Ask yourself if you too find true bliss, happiness and joy by just being on this never ending journey of spiritual and philosophical conquest. This journey has no final destination and realizing this fact can help us overcome the disappointments that we so often come across.

Enlightenment is not a Destination. It is the Journey. Keep walking.

19 Responses to “Enlightenment is not a Destination. It is the Journey.”

  1. A gripping life said

    Like you, I believe in eternal progression. It’s a beautiful understanding. Because I keep an eternal perspective, I have been able to eliminate fear. I also think that truth is revealed as we become ready for it. Precept upon precept.

    • Raunak said

      AGL, the way you live your life is truly an inspiration. great stuff! thank you for sharing your beliefs…I wish more people espoused such a living.

  2. Some days it feels like the destination is behind me and not forward. My journey is more of a zig-zag than a straight line destination. I don’t think I am the only one taking the long way round! Great and thoughtful post.

    • Raunak said

      John, you are definitely not alone. I find it really difficult to continue on the journey for long. Need to once in a while hop off the train, take a break and then resume the journey again.
      Thanks for sharing your zig zag journey! I feel it adds to the excitement of the trip.

  3. Quote: “The journey on the awakened path in itself is the eternal bliss and joy that I am seeking.”

    Well, there is something about this post I like a lot. It is honest. Totally honest. Still I have sound a bit boring… With all do respect I see things differently.
    The path is just that, the path.
    Awakened is something you are for a while after Illusion is seen through. 40-50 days of bliss follow, for some people this change takes longer.
    The bliss state is neccesary to lure you away from thought, it has a function. After that there is no self any more to feel bliss.
    So, the journey is interesting and exciting. But after that, there is nothingness, oneness.
    There is a point in not making this into a goal, because a belief makes the loss of false self impossible. The belief is the thought, the false self. Which must be dropped to be – free from it.
    Then you turn into noone.
    One day in oneness is better then a life on the journey, that is how sweet it is – without taste. A strange thing, impossible to grasp. But in can be found in an instant. Any second. Now. Only thing stopping us is love of the journey. Love of our life.
    Because all that has to go. “We” have to go – to become – nothing and all.

    • Raunak said

      thank you so much for contributing such wonderful thoughts. They present a counter argument that is so strong. Really appreciate it.
      I couldn’t agree more with you. The transition to losing the false self is great. And having a belief in itself makes it impossible to lose that self.
      However, I do not see myself capable of reaching this eventuality. But knowing this, I do not wish to end my journey. Hence to continue in this journey, I have to let go of the end goal and fall in love with the journey of spiritual search itself.

  4. soumyav said

    “Enlightenment is not a Destination. It is the Journey.”..Very true Raunak and wonderfully stated..It is the reality that we cannot hide nor do we get reveale dto it that earlier on the path..For anything to happen ,it has a particular time,a moment that defines it,the same wth realisation.The realisation isn’t a word it is a series of stages that we come across in life while undertaking the journey.Be it in social,normal life,or the consiousness that keeps us alive. Every instant,with each experience we learn,live,walk towards the light with a blissful feeling.Without realization of anythng,bliss cant be felt…
    Loved this post and so your thought.

    • Raunak said

      thanks soumya πŸ™‚ I feel that I do not possess what it takes to lose myself completely, which is what many people define enlightenment as. As such, I do not see a final destination. However, I realize the importance on staying on this journey of spiritual search. Hence for me it is important to be in love with this journey. For me this journey is the end in itself.

      thanks again for sharing your lovely thoughts πŸ™‚

      • soumyav said

        For yourself to lose completely, we nee dto forget the logic behind and the logical reasoning that drives our mind..anything that demands explanation takes time to reveal..doesnt mean it isnt true or doesnt exist..surrendering self,without hesitation is the true way..

      • soumyav said

        For yourself to lose completely, we nee dto forget the logic behind and the logical reasoning that drives our mind..anything that demands explanation takes time to reveal..doesnt mean it isnt true or doesnt exist..surrendering self,without hesitation is the true way..

      • Raunak said

        golden words πŸ™‚ but so difficult to put into action.

  5. Thank you for your kindness you warm and nice human being. I can feel your warmth through your words. Its so simple to find the diamond so I cant help myself hinting about it. But thoughts doesnt want to see them selves, because then they will never be in charge again…
    If you would change your mind and want to end the search, then only look within, not outside. The door is not locked.
    Ask inwards who sees the one who perceives the sense of self.
    That is the last thought you will ever have.

  6. Nina said

    Very nice post! And just like enlightenment is a journey also learning is a transforming process. For me, as a lover of knowledge and wisdom, these two journeys are inseparable. Like a woman working on a spinning wheel knows how much stronger a thread becomes when it has three strands, I like to weave shorter or longer strands of others’ wisdom into my threads. Knowledge too becomes stronger when shared. Thank you for providing this piece!

    • Raunak said

      thank you Nina for sharing such wonderful thoughts. I feel that knowledge and learning are a journey of bliss as long as the driver is not ego.
      WP is a great platform to realize the power of shared learning.
      Thanks again πŸ™‚

  7. Good Deed said

    Post you are relating to is great. It gives a place for taught, show us the way to go, and LET’S us go that way alone. Truly Inspiring…

  8. I would like to appreciate the way in which you have excellently described the eternal path…..

Leave a Reply

 
