doakonsult

Consulting.Philosophy.Travel

  • There are three types of people in the world, those who don't know what's happening, those who wonder what's happening and those on the streets that make things happen.

A Lesson in Life

Posted by Raunak Mahajan on January 6, 2013

“People with interesting lives have no vanity.They swap cities.Invest in projects with no guarantees. Are interested in people who are opposite of them. Resign without having another job in sight. Accept an invitation to do something they haven’t before. Are prepared to change their favorite color, favorite dish. They start from zero countless times. They do not get frightened of getting old. They climb on stage, shear their hair, do craziness for love, purchase one-way tickets.”

Martha Madeiros

I learnt a lesson last week. Unfortunately, as in many cases, the lesson came a little too late. I was reminded that the present is the only thing we can be certain of. The future is nothing but a hope. It may or may not get realized. Live as if there is no tomorrow. Do things as if they were the last things you will ever do.

I moved into my apartment a little over a month back. The apartment was shown to me by the caretaker. A couple of phone calls with the landlord, Mr.Sharma and the deal was made. I shifted my stuff and started enjoying my new home. Every now and then I would talk to the landlord over phone expressing few concerns regarding faulty plumbing or electricity. And everytime, Mr.Sharma would take immediate steps to ensure my comfort and convenience. In a country like India, finding such a cooperative landlord is very rare and I felt blessed indeed. It just amazed me how  he, without having met me in person, allowed me to lease his house and even went out of his way to make me feel at home in a strange town. Our telephonic conversations were very friendly indeed and I sensed a spiritual connection with the jovial spirit.

Every week I would resolve to meet him the coming Sunday but end up being in office and put off the meeting to next Sunday. Five such Sundays passed. Monday 8:30 am, I opened my car door when I heard the caretaker’s voice from behind me, “Raunak, Mr.Sharma is no more. He passed away this morning due to a sudden heart attack.”

I rushed to Mr.Sharma’s house. I finally met him. He didn’t talk. My heart cried.

9 Responses to “A Lesson in Life”

  1. soumyav said

    Thts so terrible! sometimes we miss the moments that we need to value and we only realize after everything just gets lost …

  2. A gripping life said

    This made me sad, Raunak. I’m sorry you didn’t get a chance to meet your friend face to face. He sounds like he was a very kind spirit.

  3. Raunak: Nothing meaningful ever happens in a refrigerator. Things change through the heat of emotion, not the ice of thoughts. And heartfelt sadness is one of those charged emotions. I look forward to meeting you “back on track” in life. Happy New Year.

  4. Our surprises are never over.

    I hated surprises( not any more) so i started learning Astrology 20 years back. And I am still learning. I intend (and hope) to complete the learning in my next birth. But yes I have been able to lessen the number of my surprises ! 😀

  5. Hi! I’ve nominated your blog for the Sunshine Award, which is an award for bloggers who positively and creatively inspire other bloggers. Here’s my post on the award:
    http://siciliangodmother.wordpress.com/2013/01/07/ive-won-a-sunshine-award/

Leave a Reply

 
